The Frankenmuth Museum Established 1972. It was built in 1905 originally as the commercial House Hotel by Lorenz Kern. From 1943 to 1972 it served as the site of the Frankenmuth News. Extensive remodeling prior to the 72 opening made this building well suited for telling the Frankenmuth story. A large addition opened in May, 1974. The Museum operates as a non-profit educational organization dedicated to preserving the rich heritage of this fine community.