Fayette County Court House


Stock #: 44182
Type: Postcard
Era: Chrome
City: La Grange
State: Texas (TX)
County: Fayette
Size: 3.5" x 5.5" (9 x 14 cm)
Other Categories:
Additional Details:
In 1833, the Congress of Texas created Fayette County, and La Grange became the county seat. Shortly thereafter, Congress passed a bill, locating the Capital of the Republic near the townsite of La Grange, and only the veto of President Houston prevented erection of the capitol here. Four Court Houses have housed the county offices; the present imposing structure, costing $96,000, being erected in 1891.

Comments & Reviews

Post a public comment, question or review: