Dauphin Battery, Old Fort Niagara, South Redoubt, French Store-house
Additional Details:
| Capt. Francois Pouchot, one of King Louis XV's best military engineers, set up his guns in this position, behind massive earthworks, to rake the approach to the drawbridge. South Redoubt is shown in center, French Store-house at left. Old Fort Niagara, built 1726 and now a historic shrine, is open to visitors the year 'round. It is 14 miles from Niagara Falls. |